People Get Ready

Image

I was thinking recently just how much of an impact music has had on my life. Especially 1960s music. This will become more evident as you follow my blog. Old movies also influenced me — and I am happy to say the music and the old movies were good influences in my life.

Some of you are saying, “Oh no, here comes a song.”  And you would be correct. One of my favorites. This song brings tears to my eyes every time I hear it. This song makes me so happy I was able to repent, turn away from my sins and receive Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. The song is “People Get Ready” by the Impressions with Curtis Mayfield as the lead singer. 

People get ready, there’s a train comin’

You don’t need no baggage, you just get on board. 

All you need is faith to hear the diesels hummin’

Don’t need no ticket, you just thank the Lord.

Indeed you need Faith. Faith in God, His word and His promises. A friend recently sent me some scriptures to read. One is 1Timothy 1:18-19. This is from the Apostle Paul to Timothy: “This charge I commit to you Timothy, my son, in accordance with the prophetic utterances which pointed to you, that inspired by them you may wage the good warfare. Holding Faith and a good conscience. By rejecting conscience, certain persons have made shipwreck of their Faith.”

And Ephesians 2:8-9: “For by grace you have been saved through Faith. And this is not your own doing, it is the Gift of God. Not because of works, lest any man should boast.” And again in Hebrews 11:6: “And without Faith it is impossible to please Him. For whoever would draw near to God must believe He exists and that He rewards those who seek him.

The song “People Get Ready” goes on to say: There ain’t no room for the hopeless sinner whom would hurt all mankind just to save his own. Believe me now! Have pity on those whose chances grow thinner. For there is no hiding place against the Kingdom’s Throne.  

1Corinthians 6:9-12 tells us who won’t make it. Who we should pity. “Do you not know the unrighteous will not inherit the Kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the immoral; nor the idolaters; nor adulterers; not homosexuals; nor the greedy; nor drunkards; nor revilers; nor robbers will inherit the Kingdom of God.”

And remember 1Peter 5:4-5; “For whatever is born of God overcomes the world; and this is the victory that overcomes the world, our Faith. Who is it that overcomes the world but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God”?

Before I found Christ Jesus, I fell on the “pity list.” I was lumped in with the immoral and the idolaters. But after coming to Christ, repenting of my sins, being baptized and seeking the Lord, who sought me first, I am now on the “preferred list”.

All I need is Faith to hear the diesels hummin. Don’t need no ticket, YOU JUST THANK THE LORD.

And I thank and praise Him everyday. God bless you for reading this!

Bernard Addison is serving 46 months for Conspiracy to Commit Mail Fraud. Questions or comments can be sent to bernardaddison@outlook.com or to:

Bernard Addison/ 44863-074/ FPC-Atlanta; Dorm D/ P.O. Box 150160/ Atlanta, GA 30315

Leave a Reply

